top of page

Experiencing Loss


This week I experienced an unexpected loss.

While talking with one of my friends from San Francisco, I found out that a man I used to visit once or twice a week had passed away suddenly a month ago.

I still can't wrap my head around the fact that if I were to go back and knock on his door, he wouldn't be there. Maybe it's just because of the distance I have from the situation, but its also hard to believe because there's this desire to have more time with him.

Larry was probably in his mid 40s, he owned a Chihuahua named Vinny who never warmed up to me (he actually growled at me while eating a treat out of my hand once), he was in a wheelchair because he needed surgery on his hip, but he constantly had a smile on his face. He would always ask us to pray for him to have a good week, maintain his joy, for the people who slept outside his window, and that he would stay sober for the rest of the week. I'm going to miss him dearly.

Through this experience, I was reminded of the urgency of our calling as Christians. To be the example to others and walk with them as they walk with Christ. You never know when someone's time on earth will come to an end. If you have someone in your life doesn't know Jesus, seize the day and answer the call of the great commission. You don't have to be on the mission field to live life on mission.

Rest in peace, Larry. Thank you for all the prayers and brightening my day with you smile.


bottom of page